Book Review: Geek Girl (Book 1)

Geek Girl Book 1 cover

Image Source: Goodreads.com4 open books the girl in the steel corset

Author: Holly Smale
Genre: Young Adult
Published:  February 28, 2013 by HarperCollins Children’s Books
Support the Author: 
amazon
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

Synopsis: 

Harriet Manners knows a lot of things.

She knows that a cat has 32 muscles in each ear, a “jiffy” lasts 1/100th of a second, and the average person laughs 15 times per day. What she isn’t quite so sure about is why nobody at school seems to like her very much. So when she’s spotted by a top model agent, Harriet grabs the chance to reinvent herself. Even if it means stealing her Best Friend’s dream, incurring the wrath of her arch enemy Alexa, and repeatedly humiliating herself in front of the impossibly handsome supermodel Nick. Even if it means lying to the people she loves.

As Harriet veers from one couture disaster to the next with the help of her overly enthusiastic father and her uber-geeky stalker, Toby, she begins to realise that the world of fashion doesn’t seem to like her any more than the real world did.

And as her old life starts to fall apart, the question is: will Harriet be able to transform herself before she ruins everything?

Review:

 My name is Harriet Manners, and I’m a geek.

That had me from the start and couldn’t put down my Kendra (it’s what I call my Kindle. Haha) until I finished reading Geek Girl 1. And do you know what I think? I thought that was fun. It didn’t fail to make me a laugh a good hearty laughter. Hubby thought I was going crazy.

Anyway, on to my review.

I find the story quite similar to Anne Hathaway’s movie The Princess Diary in the sense that they’re both geeky and who turned in to a beautiful swan. In Harriet’s case, however, she turns to one only when she has a photo shoot or a modeling gig. Other than those days, she’s back to her normal, quirky style. Also, Harriet is not a princess.

Also, her discovery as a model was nothing like a fairy tale, which I liked because it’s something that can happen in real life, like this local model who was discovered while cleaning their yard outside.

What I enjoyed reading about the book is that there were a lot of geeky nice-to-know stuff inserted here and there to connect with what Harriet was feeling or experiencing, whether it’s feeling worried that her parents wouldn’t let her fly to Russia or feeling twitterpated because Lion Boy is noticing her. The trivia facts were fun to read. I even share some to hubby. I also got the Harriet fever because there were instances wherein I start a conversation with “Did you know…” Haha. Crazy, right?

Another thing that I like about the book is the characters. Harriet is surrounded by people with different personalities who loves her just as her, like her gay agent, her quirky dad, her serious step-mom and her stylish best friend. It also tackled about bullying, which is kind of a big deal for teens. What’s interesting is that despite the humiliation, Harriet never changed who she is just to please her bully. She stayed true to herself even though she’s fast becoming a super model.

Now, you may be wondering why I give this only four open books despite the positive feedback? Well, to be honest I really can’t remember. I read this back in August and I rated it on my Goodreads with four stars. For some reason, I really can’t recall but I’m sure there was a very good reason for it. Otherwise, I would’ve rated it with five open books. When I do remember, I’ll let you know.

In the mean time, Geek Girl is a teen romance with light comedy. It’s great if you want something to keep your mind off of things while having a good hearty laugh.

Favorite Quotes: 

Nobody hopped into a wardrobe to find Narnia; they hopped in, thinking it was just a wardrobe. They didn’t climb up the Faraway Tree, knowing it was a Faraway Tree; they thought it was just a really big tree. Harry Potter thought he was a normal boy; Mary Poppins was supposed to be a regular nanny. It’s the first and only rule. Magic comes when you’re not looking for it.

Your daughter is adorable. I’ve never seen such an alien duck in my entire life.

You need to stop caring what people who don’t matter think of you. Be who you are and let everybody else be who they are. Differences are a good thing.

This might surprise you, but here’s a fact: people who plan things thoroughly aren’t particularly connected with reality. It seems like they are, but they’re not: they’re focusing on making things bite-size, instead of having to look at the whole picture. It’s procrastination in its purest form because it convinces everyone—including the person who’s doing it—that they are very sensible and in touch with reality when they’re not. They’re obsessed with cutting it up into little pieces so they can pretend it’s not there at all.

Leave a Reply

