Book Review: A Spy Like Me (Circle of Spies Book 1)

A Spy Like Me on Kindle

2 open books

Author: Laura Pauling
Genre: Young Adult / Spy Thriller
Published: April 9, 2012 by Redpoint Press
Support the Author: 

amazon
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

Synopsis:

Games can be deadly.

Eighteen-year-old Savvy Bent expects fireworks on her first date with Malcolm – in Paris! Except over a picnic of sparkling cider and strawberry tarts, a sniper shoots at them.

That’s only the beginning. From the top of the Eiffel Tower to the depths of the catacombs, Savvy must sneak, deceive, and spy to save her family and friends and figure out whether Malcolm is one of the bad guys before she completely falls for him.

Review: 

I’m not really a fan of teen espionage. For me, I find it superficial and over the top. However, I did enjoy that movie, Spy Kids, so when this was placed on a free offer on Bookbub, I thought I’d give it a try. Plus, the book cover looks really nice.

I know. I know.

I’m not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but I can’t help it. I’m a sucker for great covers. So yeah, any one who’s planning on publishing a book some time in the future, it’s important to consider a really great cover for your book.

Moving on. The book, A Spy Like Me begins with Savvy Bent, the heroine, going out on a date with a hot waiter, Malcolm, in a river near the Eiffel Tower. The date started off pretty smooth before her expectations were crushed by a huge disappointment that her date failed to prepare something romantic. Despite that, they exchanged romantic banters and with a few flirtations here and there.

Now I can probably understand her sentiment, but c’mon. That was their first date. It’s not like they’ve been dating for months and it was a special day for them. So I find the opening scene pretty shallow.

And then while exchanging flirty banters at each other, bullets were suddenly raining on them, which was kind of a surprise on my part. So I thought, why it’s only the first chapter and I’m start to get some good action. Yay!

But the excitement only stayed as long as the first chapter.

Because after that I was like what was that all about?

Although I find that Savvy was a concerned about her date’s well-being, I think she could’ve done better than by lying to her dad and checking up on him at cafe he was working at the next day. It’s good that she remained calm during the whole the time but anyone who’s smart enough would report the incident to the police. I know I would.

After that first part, the next chapters where like a blur to me. I was having a hard time following who was who and what’s the reaction and all that. Sure, the plot was getting interesting the moment her friend Aimee disappeared and she was pulling some spy tricks to find her friend. I think that was pretty noble of her to do that.

However, the way I saw it, it seemed what Savvy was doing was all child’s play to her. And even though she was in the brink of death, she still didn’t take her situation seriously. Worse of all, most of the sticky situations she fell into was largely due to her own shallowness and, can I say, stupidity? If you’re going to stalk someone or spy on someone, you’re going to come prepared, right? Like I said, all child’s play despite being in a serious situation.

Another reason I’m giving this book a three-open-book rating is that the whole writing was pretty confusing, especially Savvy’s thoughts. Hers was all over the place. But since she’s a teenager, I’ll forgive her because her fickle mindedness is probably due to hormonal changers in her body, you know. Teenagers (cue: rolled eyeballs) Haha!

Anyway, I find the plot original for a spy book. However, the characters didn’t warm up to me. Even Malcolm, who’s supposed to be hot and gorgeous. The storyline was pretty confusing. It also lacked the element of thrill as it is expected in an espionage book. To be honest, as I ran the scenes in my mind, I felt like was watching a slapstick action movie. Irritating and not funny at all.

If you’re looking to pass the time, then this could be good for you. However, if you want something that will get your heart racing, you’re better off reading another book. The say the Gallagher Girls series is a better option.

As for me, I’m not sure if I’ll read the next two series. I might in the future if I have nothing else to read. But for now, the answer is no.

Favorite Quotes: 

None, unfortunately. As I said, Savvy’s thoughts were all over the place and the writing was pretty confusing.

 

Leave a Reply

