Book Review: Oasis (The Last Humans Book 1)


Oasis Book Cover

Source: Goodreads.com

4 open books the girl in the steel corset

Author: Dima Zales
Genre: Dystopian / Science Fiction
Published: January 19, 2016 (Expected) by Mozaika Publications
Support the Author: 

amazon (pre-order)

Synopsis: 

My name is Theo, and I’m a resident of Oasis, the last habitable area on Earth. It’s meant to be a paradise, a place where we are all content. Vulgarity, violence, insanity, and other ills are but a distant memory, and even death no longer plagues us.

I was once content too, but now I’m different. Now I hear a voice in my head, and she tells me things no imaginary friend should know. Her name is Phoe, and she is my delusion.

Or is she?

Review: 

So I got a chance to give a review  on Oasis (The Last Humans Book 1) before it’s published, and I’m pretty excited to do.

Just so you know, this was sent to me by the publisher via Tomoson to provide a review, but all my opinions are my own and are not biased. Also, I didn’t receive any payment in any form for my honest review.

Okay, now we’re cleared on that, let’s proceed with my review.

I don’t recall ever reading sci-fi book so when I got an offer on my inbox, I thought I’d give it a try. Plus, the synopsis seemed interesting.

And it was.

I thought it was going to be something like the Maze Runner, The Hunger Games or Divergent, but it wasn’t. Although the story was set in a post-apocalyptic era, they weren’t enslaved or segregated by districts or personality types. There were no zombies either.

What it does have is technology so advanced that it’ll get  Star Trek fans excited. Augmented reality, virtual reality, nanocytes, hovering/flying disks, super smart AIs, mind control, mind manipulation, holograms, extrapolation — you name it, this book probably has it. I got lost in tracking everything because they were just too many than my brain can cope. Haha!

Don’t get me wrong when I compared Oasis to the top books mentioned above. I also love them — all three book series. This was just different.

What I like about the Oasis is that it had me guessing all throughout the book, except for Phoe. I knew right then and there that she’s an AI, what with her ability to hack into different systems and control Theo’s nanocytes inside him. Most of the time, it had me flipping through the pages of my Kendra (My Kindle’s name. She has a name and don’t laugh) because I just wanted to know what’s going to happen next.

I also like Theo’s character. Although he’s sort of skeptical, he’s open minded to a lot of things. And that’s probably led him to meet Phoe and to know more about their past and everything behind Oasis.

I also like Phoe. She kind of reminds me of Scarlet Johansson’s character in the movie, Her. 

As for the plot, I think it’s pretty unique, the goo and all. There were some parts, though, that kind of reminds me of Ender’s Game, Her, and Inception. Despite that, I enjoyed the book.

What I didn’t like, however, was that I got lost in some areas because I had a hard time following the conversation. For instance, the part when Phoe was explaining the rationality between being able to materialize objects through hand gestures. I didn’t get that part.

Nevertheless, it was an enjoyable one. As a matter of fact, I want to know what’s next now that Theo knows the truth behind Oasis.

Overall, I give it a four-open book rating because the plot was unique and hard to guess. I also want to know what’s going to happen next. I think the next book is going to be an interesting one. I do hope though that they’d be more characters as I feel like the entire book was focused on just Theo and Phoe. But then, I guess that’s how that story should go.

Anyway, if you enjoy reading dystopian novels and sci-fi, Oasis (The Last Humans) is worth the read. You can pre-order a copy on Amazon.

Favorite Quotes: 

Those who don’t learn from history are doomed to repeat it.

His sense of humor was permanently replaced by the Pythagorean Theorem.

The good of the society outweighs the good of an individual.

 

Leave a Reply

